Weaned. Finally.

Blue is officially weaned.

I successfully nursed him for 5 days short of a complete year.

It was a lot longer than I had planned.

When Blue was born, I wanted to nurse him exclusively and I did. It was really easy for us and, for the most part, I enjoyed it. Friends, family and other random people would ask me how long I planned to nurse Blue and my standard response was that I was considering it optional after he got teeth. And that was kind of when I planned to faze out nursing. The thought of sharp baby teeth getting intimately close to my nipple was…less than appealing.

toddler teeth smileThen Blue got his first teeth. And they were just as sharp as I had thought they would be. And he bit. Every time he nursed. I had heard other women suggest flicking him in the face when he bit. I understood that it worked for those moms, but I just couldn’t do it. I didn’t want to inflict pain on my baby when he had no idea he was hurting me. Another suggestion I heard was to push his face into my breast until he opened his mouth to take a breath. That sounded slightly more appealing, but Blue didn’t really chomp down and hold on he just bit and let go so it didn’t seem like it was the solution I was looking for. Finally I asked Blue’s pediatrician about it and he gave me the suggestion I liked the best. He suggested that each time Blue bit me, I should just stop nursing him for a few minutes. It worked!

Another thing that kept me nursing when I was ready to quit was Blue’s refusal to take a bottle. For a few weeks when he was 1-2 months old he would take a bottle without issue, but after that he refused. We tried every bottle we could find that was supposed to be good for breast-fed babies and Blue hated all of them. And it didn’t matter if the bottle had breast milk or formula in it – he still refused it. As he got older he would even grab the nipple on the bottle and squeeze it, squirting milk in his face. It was extremely frustrating!

And then, 5 days before his first birthday, Blue just stopped nursing. He refused. Every time I tried to nurse him he would turn his head away, cry and even bite. When I put him down and stopped trying to nurse him, he was fine. Happy even. So we stopped. I called the doctor about switching him to whole milk and that is what we did. 16 ounces a day is our goal and Blue LOVES it!

People told me I would miss nursing Blue. I don’t. I’m glad I nursed him as long as I did, but after all the biting I was more than ready to be done.

I just have to find other ways to get my cuddles from Blue, which is easy since he likes to read.

This entry was posted in Blue, Breastfeeding, Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weaned. Finally.

  1. kloppenmum says:

    Isn’t it lovely to have your body back to yourself? I don’t begrudge any of our children their breastfeeding time – but it can be hard, especially when they bite. To tell the truth, I’m a bit shocked at the ‘flick in the face’ idea. I’ve never heard of that before.

    • Michelle says:

      Yes! I think if it had been smooth sailing the whole time I might’ve missed it some when he was done, but as it was I didn’t at all. As for the flicking in the face trick, I actually heard that from my supervisor when I worked as a social worker – way before I ever had Blue. At the time it didn’t sound completely horrible to me, but after becoming a mom my perspective changed – a lot!

Leave a Reply

