Discouraged

Lately, I’ve been feeling a little discouraged when I read other mommy blogs. I started blogging as a way to keep family who live out of state updated on Blue’s development, but I also desired a community. I’m a “mostly” stay at home mom and sometimes (or a lot) it gets lonely.

I live in a community where I don’t know a lot of people. I moved here when HandyMan and I got married and although we are involved in our church, I still don’t have a lot of close friends or people who I felt I could reach out to when the loneliness was beginning to drive me crazy. So I thought I would join the mommy bloggers world and find other moms who are in similar situations to me.

And I have found a few moms that I relate to and whose blogs make me laugh and feel like I’m not alone, but I’ve found more and more blogs that just manage to make me feel like I’m not being a good enough mom. Like I’m failing at this parenting thing because I CHOOSE to vaccinate my child. Or because I don’t make all of his meals and baby food from scratch. Or because I don’t use my cloth diapers 100% of the time.

smiling baby boy eats food

Blue enjoying a local fish fry.

Lately I’ve been reading a lot of mommy blogs who are passionate about the food they eat and the kinds of foods they feed their children. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great to be concerned about what you feed your children, and important to make sure your child gets a variety of healthy foods, but why go to such extremes? And if you feel like it’s SO important to feed your children local, organic foods, why make those of us who don’t or can’t feel as if we’re doing something wrong because of it?

It is expensive to buy local, organic foods, and my family simply cannot afford it. We are not destitute by any means, but we ARE living on a budget. We eat healthy and rarely eat out or eat processed pre-packaged meals, so why should I be made to feel like I’m failing my child when I don’t feed him local and/or organic foods? I shouldn’t. I am not doing anything wrong and I am determined not to be made to feel as if I am.

I can’t make other bloggers do this, but I am going to work really hard to make my blog a place where other moms can come and not feel as if they are doing anything wrong. Being a parent is hard and we should work to support each other in this most important job!

This entry was posted in Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Discouraged

  1. Well said. I feel constantly pressed by my various mommy friends. Some are super eco-friendly and never buy a toy that comes in non-recyclable packaging. Others think that babies are self-sufficient little things that should take care of their own needs and that I coddle my baby too much.
    I use cloth and disposable diapers – I use disposable when the kiddo is due for a poop – practicality people! I sometimes make her food. I sometimes buy it. I usually play with her on the floor, but I have been known to put on a dvd so I can check my e-mail and drink my coffee. I vaccinate Tiddly-Winks, but I also take her the the chiropractor. We co-sleep for part of the night, but right now she is asleep in her crib.
    I share your frustration – where are the mommy bloggers who are doing the best they can without an agenda?

    • Michelle says:

      I’m so glad I’m not alone in my frustrations! I’ve been putting in a Baby Einstein video for Blue so I can work or get supper made. Isn’t it better that he watches a video than burns his hand on the stove?

Leave a Reply

