Cleanliness is Next to…Impossible?

I have often felt stressed and overwhelmed since having Blue. I look around the house and can see all the things that need to be done…vacuuming, dusting, dishes, laundry, cooking, etc., and on top of those things I have to take care of Blue and myself. In addition to all the “stay at home mom” tasks I needed to accomplish, I also have a part time job. It’s only a few hours a week, but along with adjusting to having and taking care of a baby and the housework it has often felt like more than I could handle. So I didn’t. I didn’t even try to do much cleaning and only did enough laundry to keep us in clean clothes.

As Blue grew and I got a better handle on his routine and what he needed each day, I began to feel like I could tackle some of the pending household projects. But by this time I didn’t know where to start. The bathroom that hadn’t been REALLY cleaned since before Blue was born. Or the kitchen, the room everyone sees first when they come over. OR the living room, the room where we spend most of our time. I didn’t know, so I continued to do just enough to get by and to keep us from being nominated for a hoarding show.

Then, one day, I was talking to my mom on the phone and telling her how overwhelmed I felt by it all and how I wasn’t doing a good job handling everything. I confessed that my lack of housekeeping skills was causing tension between me and HandyMan and that it was causing me extra stress to be living in such a disorderly house. My mom listened patiently and told me how she understood and then gave me a great piece of advice. She told me that I should focus on keeping one room clean at a time. That I should pick a room and get in the habit of keeping it picked up and organized and to do that for a month and then slowly add other rooms or areas of the house.

I thought about what my mom said and decided it sounded like something I could handle. I worked hard to get our living room picked up, dusted and swept and since then I have worked to keep it that way. It has really helped my stress level to have at least one room in the house that is, mostly, clean on a regular basis. And now that Blue is working on getting mobile, it is more important than ever that our living room floor is clean and swept so Blue isn’t eating unidentifiable objects off the floor.

Since then, I have added more rooms or areas of the house that I try to keep clean on a regular basis. I’ve been making our bed every morning before I even leave the room. I’ve also been staying on top of the laundry. In fact we don’t even have enough dirty laundry, right now, to make a full load!

My house is still not perfect and spotless and it probably never will be. And that’s OK with me. But the mess/clutter that is left is manageable and is no longer overwhelming!

My next room to tackle is the kitchen. I would LOVE to have a clean kitchen on a daily basis!

This entry was posted in Healthy Habits, New mom, SAHM and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

