Couch to 5K

A couple (few?) weeks ago I announced that HandyMan and I were going to start training to run/jog a 5K at the end of the summer. I also promised an update so here it is :)

I have continued to jog/walk using a “Couch to 5K” program I found on the Internet. I’ve been alternating walking and jogging several times during each workout and I have noticed a difference. My legs feel stronger and don’t wimp out on me quite as fast as they did at the beginning. Yeah! I also feel like my breathing is getting better. It’s definitely not as hard to jog as it first was. Overall, I feel like I’m in better shape than I was when I started, although, I still have a long way to go.

There have been some obstacles come up that have gotten in the way several times. The worst of which has been the weather. I have been trying to workout in the evenings, after HandyMan gets home from work and after the heat subsides some. Unfortunately, we have had quite a few severe storms roll through in the evenings making it difficult to go outside to exercise. And I also know myself well enough to know that I would never get up in time to exercise in the morning before HandyMan leaves for work (6:45am!).

My plan from here on out is to continue exercising 3 times a week. I’m hoping to start seeing some weight loss, but I know that I also need to change some eating habits for that to happen. I just like chocolate chip cookies too much!

This entry was posted in Healthy Habits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Couch to 5K

  1. .:[ CrypticAzn ]:. says:

    Despite the obstacles & Mother Nature being on PMS, at least you haven’t lost your motivation, which is what usually kills it for most people. Life’s been getting in my way of going to the gym lately, but your post has kept me motivated to stay… motivated!? Does that make sense?! :-)

    • Michelle says:

      Glad I was able to help keep you motivated! I must admit that it has not been easy to go out and exercise. I have to DRAG myself off the couch most evenings.

Leave a Reply

