To Quit or Not to Quit

I’ve been thinking about quitting breastfeeding.

I feel SO guilty saying that. Breastfeeding has been pretty easy for us. There’s never been any pain and Blue latched on well right from the start. In fact, all of my reasons for wanting to wean him are completely selfish! Actually, I only really have one reason for wanting to quit.

I want to be less attached to him. I’m ready for a little freedom. It’s not that I don’t love Blue and love spending time with him, I just want to be able to go to the store…by myself! I don’t know if I’ve had some mild post partum depression or baby blues or just crazy hormones, but I’ve just been SO weepy since Blue was born and resentful of HandyMan that he can just come and go as he pleases. I really feel like if I had a little more freedom, all of that would be better, but maybe not.

It’s also getting a lot harder to nurse Blue in public. He is 8 months old and loves to take breaks and look around while nursing, leaving me completely exposed. I am not OK with this! Even if I cover him with a blanket he finds a way to uncover himself and look around, he’s SO squiggley.

I don’t know what I’m going to do. I did buy some formula this week, so maybe we’ll give it a try and see how it goes. Blue’s never had formula, so I’m not sure he’d even take it. And, no matter what, I don’t plan to quit all at once…that would be PAINFUL!

If anyone has any advice, I’d love to hear it!

This entry was posted in Blue, Breastfeeding, Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Quit or Not to Quit

  1. Mom says:

    Why don’t you try just cutting back? Just start nursing him in the morning and evening and giving him a bottle during the day. You could even put the fomula in a sippy cup. Then you can skip the whole bottle mess.

  2. caseyneeb says:

    I was gonna say that too! Once Elliott started getting wiggly and crazy, I pared down the nursing sessions too. And I wouldn’t do it away while “out and about” either, for the same reasons. We ended up doing only 4 nursing times a day for long time – first thing in the morning, before morning nap, before afternoon nap, and bedtime. And I nursed Elliott til he was 16 months old. I thought it would be a bigger fight than it was, but he pretty much weaned himself.

    And equally good call on the sippy cup – it’ll be easier to get him to drink whole milk later that way too!

    Hope it’s going well for you! Good luck! An don’t feel guilty – do what you feel is right to do. Blue will do great. And so will you! :)

    • Michelle says:

      Thanks for the info. I’m going to try putting formula in a sippy cup to see if that helps. He really doesn’t like the bottle at all, even when there’s breast milk in it and I’m not around.

Leave a Reply

