Run, Run, as Fast as You Can

HandyMan and I made a decision this weekend and I’ve decided to make it public for accountability purposes. HandyMan and I have decided that we are going to run a 5K at the end of the summer…August 7th to be exact.

I’m really looking forward to being in shape, but I’m not looking forward to the things I’m going to have to do to get there. First of all. I DO NOT like to run. I’ve always thought that hell would be eternity on a treadmill, and I’ve never run further than a mile at one time (and that was in Elementary School). But running is free and I’m hoping that as I get in better shape I will learn to like it. I’m also not looking forward to giving up some of the foods that I love in order to eat healthier. Some of them being Pepsi (or Coke) and potato chips with French Onion dip, Yum! I’m really going to miss those things.

However, being in shape and living a healthier life is going to help me to be a better wife and mom. And, as I think about how I want to raise Blue, I’ve realized that it’s really important to me to teach Blue healthy habits.

So, tomorrow, HandyMan and I start “training”. Pray for me.

This entry was posted in Blue, Healthy Habits, Marriage, Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Run, Run, as Fast as You Can

  1. CrypticAzn says:

    Good luck with that! I’ve just started a gym membership myself, in order to force me into a fitness routine of some sort… Take lots of pics once that day comes, and keep us posted on how it goes/went!

  2. Pingback: Couch to 5K | Trials & Triumphs of a New Mom

Leave a Reply

