The Wonders of a Full Night’s Sleep

Before Blue arrived, I knew that being sleep deprived was going to be one of the hardest things for me to adjust to. I have always been the kind of person who prefers to get 8-10 hours of sleep each night and I tend to be a little a lot cranky when that doesn’t happen. Knowing that, I was more than a little nervous about taking care of a newborn and decided to be very intentional about teaching Blue the difference between day and night.

From the day we brought him home from the hospital I tried to keep the rooms bright and a little noisy during the day and then dark and quiet at night. I never talked to Blue in the middle of the night, only nursing him and changing his diaper before swaddling him and putting him back to bed. Whereas during the day I tried to talk to him and make his days more stimulating. I don’t know if those things worked or if I just have a wonderful baby (maybe it’s both?), but Blue always slept well at night. He definitely wasn’t sleeping through the night as a newborn, he did wake up to eat (every 2 hours until he was 2 months old), but he would then go right back to sleep every time.

Thankfully, I now have a baby who sleeps 10 hours at night, something I was told not to expect until after he was weaned because “breastfed babies don’t sleep through the night.” Makes me want to march into the office of the lactation consultant who taught my breastfeeding class and laugh at her. But I won’t do that. Insead, I thank God every day for a baby who sleeps so well because being sleep deprived was just as hard as I expected it to be. I feel like a much better and more capable mom now that we are both sleeping at night.

Now if only Blue could get moved into his own room and out of ours, but that is a story for another day.

This entry was posted in Breastfeeding, New mom, Parenthood, Routine, Sleep and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

